Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    



The Vaéré garden

Municipality of Plougonvelin





GPS : 48°20'01.2 N   4°45'06 W



Access : The Vaéré garden is located between the sea and the road leading from Plougonvelin to La Pointe St-Mathieu. After leaving Plougonvelin, take the 5th road on the left towards Kerouman, Le Vaëré, and when the road forks continue right. The garden is on the left side of the road. Park on the right as indicated.
It can also be accessed from the coastal path. A sign located a hundred metres from a white landmark indicates its presence to hikers.







  This is a small private garden created by just one man ! Gaby Quellec, a retired farmer who has toiled endlessly over the last 15 years to turn a small valley covered in brambles with a small stream flowing through it, into a magic garden. He generously wishes to share this bit of paradise with one and all.



   It all started back in the 1970s, the time the hedges and ditches were being flattened to make way for vast fields more suitable for agricultural machines and intensive farming. In this small often flooded valley, the former lavoir of Vaéré lay buried under a mountain of soil and plant debris from the surrounding hedges.
Gaby Quellec, who had seen his family use this lavoir in the old days, could not just sit back and see the countryside of his youth change beyond recognition. With his shovel and wheelbarrow, he got down to work and unearthed the lavoir and restored its surroundings to its former glory.



   But he was not just satisfied with this feat. Inspired by the sheltered location of this wet valley, he imagined clearing it from the undergrowth to make it what it is today, a real little paradise of plants and flowers, entirely for the pleasure of its visitors. A gigantic task, which gave his life a purpose and a constant occupation in his retirement.





   As soon as spring returns Gaby Quellec's plantations explode into a cascade of colours. He has carpeted the slopes with flowers, built flower beds, and even small islands around the stream.
The trick was to control and direct the flow of water. Water is life, and you can really see how Gaby has turned this often-flooded valley into a maze of controlled streams supplying water where needed.







Among the flower beds and shrubs, the visitor can discover some exquisitely made miniature buildings : a scaled-down lighthouse, an old bistro and even a small mansion. The master of ceremony managed to turn his hand to stone-masonry and model making showing a touch of human presence in the garden of Eden.





  In this unique floral space, we go from discovery to discovery. Gaby Quellec has set up picnic areas in the sun as well as in the shade of the Gunneras. The gigantic leaves of this Brazilian native plant are often admired by visitors.









  He also wanted to understand more about the rich heritage of plants and herbs : So he has added a particular space reserved exclusively for aromatic plants and another for medicinal plants, each of which is clearly identified.





  Everywhere, the creator of this garden feels a desire to communicate not only his knowledge to the public, but also his love of nature and his desire to preserve the natural and cultural environment.


Vaéré garden : the insect refuge.

  The Vaéré garden is not only the result of a personal passion for nature. It also reflects a spirit, a rare and communicative altruism that commands respect and perhaps makes us reflect more on the meaning each of us can give to our own lives. This visit is a must !


Thanks to Glyn Orpwood who reread this text and modified the English version.

***


Thanks to Glyn Orpwood who provided the most beautiful pictures on this page.

QR code of this page :



Download this flashcode

***

Retour à l'accueil



Le jardin du Vaéré

( Commune de Plougonvelin )





GPS : 48°20'01.2 N   4°45'06 W



Accès : Le jardin du Vaéré est situé entre la mer et la route menant de Plougonvelin à la pointe St-Mathieu. Après la sortie de Plougonvelin, prendre la 5e route à gauche vers Kerouman, Le Vaëré, et à la fourche continuer sur la route de droite. Le jardin se trouve sur le côté gauche de la route. Stationner à droite dans le chemin où un petit parking a été aménagé.


  C'est un petit jardin qui est l'œuvre bénévole d'un particulier et non d'une association. Gaby Quellec l'ouvre cependant au public et se réjouit de voir les visiteurs admirer et respecter ses plantations.



   Tout est parti des années 1970, l'époque du remembrement des parcelles de la campagne pour en faire de vastes champs davantage adaptés à la mécanisation agricole et aux cultures intensives. Dans cette petite vallée où coule un ruisseau, l'ancien lavoir du Vaéré fut enseveli sous une montagne de terre et de débris végétaux provenant des haies environnantes.
Gaby Quellec, qui avait vu sa famille utiliser ce lavoir autrefois, n'a pas supporté qu'une partie de son passé soit ainsi anéantie. Retroussant résolument ses manches, avec sa pelle et sa brouette, il a patiemment remis au jour le lavoir, restitué son environnement, et confectionné avec soin des panneaux indicateurs et explicatifs.



   Mais il ne s'est pas contenté de cet exploit. Inspiré par la situation bien abritée de ce vallon humide, il a imaginé de le dégager de ses broussailles pour en faire ce qu'il est aujourd'hui, un vrai petit paradis des plantes et des fleurs, tout entier destiné à l'agrément de ses visiteurs. Un travail gigantesque, qui a donné un but à sa vie et une occupation de tous les instants à sa retraite.



   C'est évidemment dès le retour du printemps que les plantations de Gaby Quellec explosent de couleurs. Dans ce vallon qui était fréquemment inondé, il a recouvert de fleurs les talus, confectionné des parterres, et même des îlots du ruisseau dont le cours a été réorganisé afin d'assécher les allées.



Parmi les fleurs ou à l'abri des feuillages, le visiteur découvre par endroits une petite construction : un phare en réduction, un ancien bistrot ou un petit manoir. Le maître des lieux, devenu à la fois maçon et maquettiste, introduit ainsi dans son jardin un rappel de la présence humaine.



  Et dans cet espace floral peu banal, on va de découverte en découverte. Gaby Quellec a aménagé des coins de pique-nique au soleil comme à l'ombre des gunnéras. Les gigantesques feuilles de cette plante originaire du Brésil font toujours l'admiration des visiteurs.







  Mais il a aussi voulu faire œuvre pédagogique : un espace particulier est réservé aux plantes aromatiques, un autre aux plantes médicinales, chacune d'elles étant clairement identifiée.





  Partout, on sent chez le créateur de ce jardin le désir de communiquer au public non seulement ses connaissances, mais aussi son amour de la nature et son désir de préserver l'environnement naturel et culturel.


Jardin du Vaéré : le refuge à insectes.

  On l'a compris, le jardin du Vaéré n'est pas seulement le fruit d'une passion personnelle pour la nature. Il traduit aussi un esprit, un altruisme rare et communicatif qui force le respect et nous fait peut-être réfléchir sur le sens que chacun de nous peut donner à sa propre vie.

***


QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode

***