Back to home pageFrench    German    Spanish    


The Ponant Museum


( Municipality of Saint-Renan )







GPS : 48°25'56.4 N  4°37'23.6 W


   Access :   The Musée du Ponant is located in the centre of St-Renan, at 16 St Mathieu street, at the top of the Place du Vieux Marché.
Until 29 August: open every day from 10am to 12pm and from 2.30pm to 5.30pm, except on Sundays and Mondays, in compliance with health regulations.
Groups of up to 9 people are welcome all year round by appointment on 02.98.32.44.94
Parking: in front of the neighbouring cinema.




   Established since 1981 in an 18th century bourgeois house, the Musée du Ponant is the result of the work of volunteers from the Musée du Ponant association, whose aim is to preserve and present to the public the heritage elements of the Bas-Léon. In its six exhibition rooms, you can discover the furniture characteristic of the Leonard interiors of the 1900s, as well as traditional costumes and headdresses, not to mention the tools of the past trades.


Jeanne Le Bihan, 1914-1985, founder of the museum.

From the entrance, the visitor is welcomed by an exceptional Gallic stele whose enigmatic engravings evoke the possible presence of a chariot tomb in Brélès.


See our page dedicated to the  stèle de Brélès.

Then it's the restoration of a 1950s coffee-grocer's shop :





The largest room in the museum then displays the city's past and a video shows its Saturday market at the same time.


A long showcase displays the traditional costumes of the region



Then we discover a Leonard interior of yesteryear with its closed bed, its dresser, its kneeding table around a huge fireplace.




A corner of the room brings together the dairy elements

The reconstruction of an early twentieth-century classroom always intrigues young audiences. The blackboard shows a statement of a calculation problem given in 1912 on the examination test of the primary school certificate :



  Here is a superb problem of salt worker which the yesteryear 14 year pupils formerly solved by a simple arithmetic calculation, since algebra was studied only in the high school. Would you be able, today, to find the solution? It's not that obvious.
    Can you take up the challenge ?

  You think you found it? Click here for the solution :
   The solution


    The Ponant Museum is also a museum of local history that presents exhibitions on the highlights that have marked the inhabitants of the Iroise region since immemorial time. From 1960 to 1975, COMIREN's extraction of cassiterite, the tin ore used to make bronze, which was already the reputation of the region in antiquity, is shown and told in a video.





    The last room is dedicated to temporary exhibitions. It evokes in 2020 various elements of Leon's religious past.


An interactive montage briefly tells the visitor
legends relating to the many saints venerated in the Iroise Country




Baptism and solemn communion

    This museum of popular arts and traditions complements our website admirably : before or after having discovered one by one the elements of the heritage on the spot, the visitor becomes aware in a short time of what shaped the today's Iroise Country. Through carefully preserved objects and modern videos, the memory of an endearing region is exposed, emerging from oblivion a not so distant past that the younger generations may discover with astonishment, but certainly with pleasure, and will have no trouble remembering.


Visit the website of the Ponant Museum :

  http://www.museeduponant.com

Yannick Loukianoff


 ***


QR code of this page:

Retour à l'accueilAnglais    Allemand    


Le Musée du Ponant


( Commune de Saint-Renan )







GPS : 48°25'56.4 N  4°37'23.6 W


   Accès :   Le Musée du Ponant est situé en plein centre de St-Renan, au n°16 de la rue St Mathieu, en haut de la place du Vieux Marché.
Entrée gratuite le samedi de 10h à 12h et de 15h à 18h.
Ouvert du 6 au 20 août tous les jours sauf le lundi, le dimanche et le 15 août : de 10h à 12h et de 15h à 18h. Entrée: 2 €.
Après le 20 août : ouvert le samedi seulement, de 15h à 18h.
Les groupes sont accueillis toute l'année sur rendez-vous au 02.98.32.44.94
Parking: devant le cinéma voisin.




   Installé depuis 1981 dans une maison bourgeoise du 18e siècle, le musée du Ponant est le fruit du travail des bénévoles de l'association Musée du Ponant dont le but est de conserver et de présenter au public les éléments du patrimoine du Bas-Léon. On y découvre dans ses six salles d'exposition aussi bien le mobilier caractéristique des intérieurs léonards des années 1900, que des costumes traditionnels ainsi que des coiffes, sans oublier les outils des métiers d'autrefois.


Jeanne Le Bihan,1914-1985, fondatrice du musée.

Dès l'entrée, le visiteur est accueilli par une stèle gauloise exceptionnelle dont les gravures énigmatiques évoquent la présence possible d'une tombe à char à Brélès.


Voir notre page consacrée à la  stèle de Brélès.

Puis c'est la reconstitution d'un café-épicerie des années 1950 :





La plus grande salle du musée expose ensuite le passé de la ville et l'on découvre grâce à une vidéo son marché du samedi à la même époque.


Une longue vitrine expose les costumes traditionnels de la région



On découvre ensuite un intérieur léonard d'autrefois avec son lit clos, son vaisselier, sa table-pétrin autour d'une énorme cheminée.




Un angle de la pièce rassemble les éléments de la laiterie

La reconstitution d'une salle de classe du début du vingtième siècle intrigue toujours le jeune public. Au tableau on lit l'énoncé d'un problème de calcul donné en 1912 à l'épreuve d'examen du certificat d'études primaires :



  Voilà un superbe problème de paludier qu'à l'âge de 14 ans les écoliers d'autrefois résolvaient par un simple calcul arithmétique, puisque l'algèbre n'était étudiée qu'au lycée. Seriez-vous capable, aujourd'hui, d'en trouver la solution ? Ce n'est pas si évident.
    Chiche !

  Vous pensez avoir trouvé ? Cliquez ci-dessous pour obtenir la solution :
   La solution


    Le musée du Ponant est aussi un musée d'histoire locale qui présente des expositions sur les moments forts ayant marqué les habitants du pays d'Iroise depuis la nuit des temps. De 1960 à 1975 l'extraction par la société COMIREN de la cassitérite, le minerai d'étain nécessaire à la fabrication du bronze, qui faisait déjà la réputation de la région dans l'Antiquité, y est exposée et racontée dans une vidéo.





    La dernière salle est consacrée aux expositions temporaires. On y évoque en 2019 différents éléments du passé religieux du Léon.


Un montage interactif raconte brièvement au visiteur
les légendes se rapportant aux nombreux saints vénérés au Pays d'Iroise




Le baptême et la communion solennelle

    Ce musée des arts et des traditions populaires vient admirablement compléter notre site internet : avant ou après avoir découvert un à un des éléments du patrimoine sur le terrain, le visiteur prend conscience en peu de temps de ce qui a façonné le Pays d'Iroise d'aujourd'hui. Au travers d'objets soigneusement conservés et de modernes vidéos, c'est toute la mémoire d'une région attachante qui s'expose, sortant de l'oubli un passé pas si lointain que les jeunes générations découvriront peut-être avec étonnement, mais à coup sûr avec plaisir, et n'auront aucun mal à retenir.


Visitez le site internet du Musée du Ponant :

  http://www.museeduponant.com

Yannick Loukianoff


 ***


QR code de cette page :