Back to home pageFrench    German    




The Seaweed House


Municipality of Lanildut





GPS : 48°28'15.1 N - 4°45'25.4 W


Opening hours of the Seaweed House (subject to change):

- from October 1st to November 5th: Wednesday to Sunday from 2:30 pm to 6 pm
- from December 23 to January 8: from 2:30 pm to 6 pm (except on December 25 and January 1).
For group visits, call 02.98.48.12.88



   Access :   The Seaweed House overlooks the port of Lanildut. Exit Lanildut in the direction of Porspoder and take the first road on the left, towards the port. Park on the upper parking lot in front of the building.




Located on the second floor of a long building, the Seaweed House has its entrance at the level of the upper car park while the ground floor, on the quay, houses nautical companies. It is located next to the Tourist Office of the municipality and organizes all year round scientific exhibitions and conferences not to be missed ( see our info section ).

Lanildut is first and foremost a seaweed port. The first in Europe: 35,000 to 40,000 tonnes of algae are landed each year, i.e. the 3/5 of all French production.




Why this specialization? Quite simply because along the Molène archipelago, located just opposite, the Iroise Sea shelters an immense field of algae, one of the largest in Europe. These proliferate on a shallow rocky plateau subjected to a powerful mixing of water under constant conditions of salinity and a low temperature range. These factors are particularly conducive to the development of large laminaria.


Large horsetail kelp, ( Laminaria digitata ), called tali moan in Breton

Rough kelp,( Laminaria hyperborea ) called tali penn




The visit of the Seaweed House allows you to discover not only these two species, but many others, absolutely unknown to the general public.


Large Saccharin seaweed, ( Laminaria saccharina ) or royal kombu.
The photos of algae were taken during the Lanildut Algae Forum

Sea spaghetti ( Himanthalia elongata )


These algae do not all grow at the same depth. Some require a lot of oxygen and only grow on rocks beaten by waves. Others, on the other hand, grow up in sheltered sites, or in the shade of the former. The seaweed pickers do not fish algae blindly : they know where to find the particular species they are looking for.



Algae are essential for underwater life : not only are they the daily food of a whole small fauna, but they are also the refuge of fry and the preferred spawning ground for a large number of fish. The maternity hospital and the crib of the Iroise Sea in a way !
Since prehistoric times, man has been exploiting algae. He used them as natural fertilizer in his fields, then, from the beginning of the 19th century, as a basic material in the production of « breads of soda» and iodine. Nowadays, laminaria are extracted for alginates used as gelling and thickening agents in the food or cosmetics industry. Others as food : out of the 800 species of algae on the Breton coast, 12 can arrive on our plates.

It goes without saying that the exploitation of the seaweed fields of Molène, under the control of the Iroise Marine Natural Park, is highly regulated. It is about respecting nature while allowing human activity to take place.



The Seaweed House shows how this activity has developed, especially since the 1970s, when Yves Colin, of Porspoder, invented the manual « scoubidou ». Nowadays, this machine, which has become hydraulic, is designed to tear off kelp and it equips all seaweed boats.


The showcase displays in particular the small tools
produced by Yves Colin for educational purposes.


The Seaweed House is thus an obligatory stopover for visitors wishing to better understand the growing interest of this marine plant not only for the ocean environment but also for all humanity.

***
READ MORE

Learn to identify the main algae on our coasts. You will find on this site a series of 4 pages to discover the algae of Iroise as well as the titles of some popular books.

QR code of this page:



Download this flashcode


***

Accueil

La Maison de l'Algue


( Commune de Lanildut )





GPS : 48°28'15.1 N - 4°45'25.4 W


Horaires d'ouverture de la Maison de l'Algue (sous réserve de modifications):

- du 1er octobre au 5 novembre: du mercredi au dimanche de 14h30 à 18h
- du 23 décembre au 8 janvier: de 14h30 à 18h (excepté le 25/12 et le 1er janvier).
Pour les visites de groupes, appeler le 02.98.48.12.88



   Accès :  La Maison de l'Algue surplombe le port de Lanildut. Sortir de Lanildut en direction de Porspoder et prendre la première route à gauche, vers le port. Stationner sur le parking supérieur devant le bâtiment.




Installée au premier étage d'une longue construction, la Maison de l'Algue a son entrée au niveau du parking supérieur alors que le rez-de-chaussée, sur le quai, abrite des entreprises de nautisme. Elle jouxte l'Office de Tourisme de la commune et organise toute l'année des expositions et des conférences scientifiques à ne pas manquer ( voir notre rubrique infos ).

Lanildut est d'abord un port goémonier. Le premier d'Europe : 35000 à 40000 tonnes d'algues y sont déchargées chaque année, soit les 3/5e de toute la production française.




Pourquoi cette spécialisation ? Tout simplement parce que le long de l'archipel de Molène, situé juste en face, la mer d'Iroise abrite un immense champ d'algues, l'un des plus vastes d'Europe. Celles-ci prolifèrent sur un plateau rocheux peu profond soumis à un puissant brassage des eaux dans des conditions constantes de salinité et une faible amplitude des températures. Ces facteurs sont propices, en particulier, au développement des grandes laminaires.


Grande laminaire digitée, dite "tali moan" en breton

Laminaire rugueuse dite "tali penn"




La visite de la Maison de l'Algue permet de découvrir non seulement ces deux espèces, mais beaucoup d'autres, absolument méconnues du grand public.


Grande laminaire saccharine
( Les photos d'algues ont été prises
lors du Forum de l'Algue de Lanildut en 2015 )

Haricots de mer ( Himanthalia elongata )


Ces algues ne se développent pas toutes à la même profondeur. Certaines ont besoin de beaucoup d'oxygène et ne poussent que sur des roches battues par les vagues. D'autres au contraire grandissent dans des sites abrités, ou encore à l'ombre des premières. Les goémoniers n'arrachent pas les algues à l'aveuglette : ils savent où trouver l'espèce particulière qu'ils recherchent.



Les algues sont indispensables à la vie sous-marine : non seulement elles constituent la nourriture quotidienne de toute une petite faune, mais elles sont aussi le refuge des alevins et le lieu de ponte privilégié d'un grand nombre de poissons. La maternité et la crèche de la mer d'Iroise en quelque sorte !
Depuis la préhistoire, l'homme exploite les algues. Il les a utilisées comme engrais naturels dans ses champs, puis, dès le début du XIXe siècle, comme matériau de base dans la production de "pains de soude" et d'iode. De nos jours, des laminaires sont extraits les alginates utilisés comme gélifiants et épaississants dans l'industrie agroalimentaire ou cosmétique. D'autres comme aliments : sur les 800 espèces d'algues des côtes bretonnes, 12 peuvent arriver dans nos assiettes.

Il va sans dire que l'exploitation du champ d'algues molénais, sous le contrôle du Parc Naturel Marin d'Iroise, est très réglementée. Il s'agit de respecter la nature tout en permettant l'activité humaine goémonière.



La Maison de l'Algue montre comment s'est développée cette activité, surtout depuis les années 1970 qui ont vu Yves Colin, de Porspoder, inventer le scoubidou à bras. Devenu hydraulique, cet engin destiné à arracher les laminaires équipe de nos jours tous les bateaux goémoniers.


La vitrine expose notamment les petits outils
réalisés par Yves Colin à des fins pédagogiques.


La Maison de l'Algue est ainsi une étape obligée pour le visiteur désireux de mieux comprendre l'intérêt grandissant de ce végétal marin non seulement pour le milieu océanique mais encore pour toute l'humanité.

***
EN SAVOIR PLUS

Apprenez à identifier les principales algues de nos côtes. Vous trouverez sur ce site une série de 4 pages pour partir à la découverte des algues d'Iroise ainsi que les titres de quelques ouvrages de vulgarisation :

Les algues de la mer d'Iroise

Les algues du haut de l'estran

Les algues du bas de l'estran

Les algues situées sous l'estran


QR code de cette page :



Télécharger ce flashcode